nourishment :: creating music

As I have begun to write down what nourishes me in my journal each day, I have realized that I need to make the distinction between nourishing, stimulating and tonifying. I had never really thought of it before I began writing it down.

There really is a difference. Not that I don’t want to have stimulating and tonifying things in my life; I absolutely do, I think they are just as essential as nourishing ones. But since I am trying to bring more nourishment into my life, I need to be able to decide which belongs into what category.

For example, I watched a wonderful movie called Once this weekend. I fell in love with this movie immediately. I was about to add that to my journal, but when I really thought about it I realized that it wasn’t so much nourishing as it was stimulating.

Watching wonderful movies (I am a total movie buff), reading great books, listening to recorded music — all of these things are vital to my happiness. All are stimulating. This is a good thing. A very, very good thing. And so inspiring.

So what nourishes me?

img_5800

Well, one of the things that nourishes me is PLAYING PIANO. It is written there in my journal each day. It brings me such joy.

I have only recently begun taking piano lessons. My teacher is phenomenal. That makes all the difference in the world to me. Her teaching style allows for my love of creating the music to shine through and there is less of a focus on making sure everything is perfect. With experience I will improve my playing skills, I know that. For now what is most important is approaching the music with reverence and feeling true joy as I become the creator of music.

When I was younger I would go off to my room and sing along to my favourite records. I still enjoy doing that. I love to sing. When my children were babies I sang to them as I rocked them to sleep, and when they were young children I taught them simple little folk tunes that we could sing together. My voice was my first instrument. I was always too shy to sing in front of people and I still am self-conscious about singing in front of someone. But when I am alone I sing for the sheer joy of it. I have come to realize that it is the act of creation itself that gives me such nourishment.

“After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music.” — Aldous Huxley

4 thoughts on “nourishment :: creating music

  1. Have to agree with you about music. When my 1st marriage broke down I lost my piano. When I finally got one about 12-13 years later, I couldn’t stay away from it. I hadn’t realized what an important part of my life my playing really was.

    Love this idea for posting ~ just might copy you and try to do this for a week too. Great idea Colleen!. Love Barb xo

  2. I was just reading a book last night explaining how all people, whether they realize it or not, were made to create, so it makes sense that creating music would be so nourishing. I love to play the piano to. 🙂

  3. That’s great that you get nourishment from creating music. I get more nourishment from listening to music than creating it. My mom is a pianist and tried to teach me for several years, but it just never stuck. I enjoyed playing flute through jr high & high school, but never really loved it. I think art is more of an outlet for me in that way. Although we do sing ALL the time in this house. Lots of made up stuff mostly. 😉

  4. One of the things that nourishes me is solitude. I have times when I need to be alone, be with my thoughts, to refuel my spirit and soul. I don’t mean this in a negative way. By all means I am not anti-social, I love people but I am an intravert and I need my time alone (more often than not). For me, being alone is positive, pleasurable and emotionally refreshing. When I’m somewheres with a lot of people around, after a while I’ll slip-out for five minutes just to be by myself, smell the emptiness around me… to be alone, in my space, refuel my energy. This is very difficult for me because with my job I do a lot of events planning where I find myself surrounded by a lot of people. But I always find 5 minutes to go outside and sniff the fresh air.

    So taking 5 minutes here and there to be by myself is what nourishes me Colleen.

Leave a Reply

