i’m hooked

img_5761

I am hooked on knitting. I just can’t seem to get enough of it. I thought I would be done with it now that winter is over, but no. I keep buying more wool. I continue to purchase more needles – I don’t have anywhere near all the sizes yet. I am always looking for more patterns. It is a bit of an obsession really. But in a good way.

I recently received an invitation to RAVELRY and this has caused me to be inspired all over again. There are just so many beautiful projects out there that I must try.

Knitting got me through this winter. It was an especially long one for me. I started with problems in my right lung at the beginning of December and it is just now getting better. I think the weather plays a huge part in this. Four years ago I was diagnosed with fluid in the lung and I don’t think it has ever completely healed from this. It really drained me of energy and the only thing I could do really was rest. Forced rest. Exactly what I needed. So what does one do when they are forced to take it easy? Read? Absolutely. And?….you guessed it.

KNIT.

Knitting is quiet. It is portable. You can knit anywhere. And I do mean anywhere. It is so relaxing. Knitting can be challenging. Oh so fun. And in the end, when you are all done, you have a wonderful item to give to someone you love or to keep for yourself.

So, be prepared to see alot more photos of knitting projects here in this space. And if you have any favourite patterns to share or sources for beautiful wool, I’d love to hear about them.

“Knitting is very conducive to thought. It is nice to knit a while, put down the needles, write a while, then take up the sock again.” ~ Dorothy Day

4 thoughts on “i’m hooked

  1. Beautiful Colleen and the model is beautiful also. I forgot to tell you that I got my invite from Ravelry. What amazing stuff on there. I can spend hours on that site. Like you mentioned, there are so many things I want to knit now… where to start.

Leave a Reply

