fun in the dark

mommys-walk-pictures-006

This year for Earth Hour we spent the day in our favourite little town of Warkworth; eating at a wonderful cafe for lunch then over to the coffee shop for dessert. Of course I can’t be in Warkworth without heading into my favourite yarn shop and I can’t go into my favourite yarn shop without purchasing some new yarns. πŸ™‚

Lianne, Jayla and I walked a little hiking trail that follows the river and we even dipped our toes into the cool running water. Yikes. It was so cold, but so refreshing.

For supper we had sandwiches. I wanted to make the most of Earth Hour Day and use as little power as possible for the entire day, not just for one hour.

I love spending the evening in candlelight, amusing ourselves with simple games and connecting with one another. The girls put on a shadow puppet play for me and then we talked and talked and cuddled on the couch, just watching the fire in the woodstove. After the hour was over, the girls headed off to bed and I remained alone on the couch watching the fire from the woodstove and the flames from the candles. Basking in the warm glow of it all. Loving the simplicity of it. Wondering….how can I bring this into my life more often?

And what did you do for Earth Hour?

6 thoughts on “fun in the dark

  1. Nice picture of the lantern and just by reading your beautifully written post I can just imagine I’m there with you and the girls.

    You little tease πŸ™‚ saying you bought new yarns and not showing with a picture… might see a picture of the finished project soon ? Love, Vic xxo

  2. All my kiddies were asleep so mike and I had a glass of wine and chatted by candle light… Nothing knew for us really as we do this every night since we are not big tv watchers (well I’m not πŸ˜‰

  3. We used a little light *grin* and worked on handmaking some little friends out of repurposed wool sweaters. Its a new thing we’re loving right now! And it feels good to take something “forgotten” and make something new.

  4. That sounds like a wonderful Earth Hour. We both ended our Earth Hour posts the same way…wondering why we don’t spend more time that way. I also want to see the new yarn. πŸ™‚

  5. What a perfectly wonderful evening. I missed Earth hour – no idea why except too busy at work, cramming it in after Sloane went to bed. You make me want to plan my own Earth hour for Team Lawson. I think I will. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

