what do you hear?

Today during my morning walk, I was overwhelmed by the amount of bird song that I could hear. One on top of the other. Each adding their voice to the chorus. It was incredible.

Robins with their “cheerily…cheer up…cheerily”, Chickadees singing their names “chickadee…dee…dee”, a group of Canada Geese honking their way across the sky. Mourning Doves sounding like owls with their “who…who…who”. The loud “caw…caw…caw” of the Crows. In the distance I could hear a pair of Cardinals calling back and forth to each other.

And then there were the other birds whose songs I couldn’t recognize.

What a treat for the senses.

img_5593

Last weekend while my girls were planting pots of grass seed, I heard the loveliest sound of all – LAUGHTER.

They were so silly and got into the giggling and just couldn’t stop. I joined in, not because I was in on the joke and thought it was funny too, but because their laughter was contagious. And so there we were laughing until our bellies hurt, with tears of joy streaming down our faces and I thought to myself, I want to always remember this moment. I know when my girls have all left home that this is what I will miss the most; the sound of their voices and their laughter.

img_5601

“The most wasted of all days is one without laughter.” – e. e. cummings

“You don’t stop laughing because you grow old. You grow old because you stop laughing.” – Michael Pritchard

One thought on “what do you hear?

  1. “You don’t stop laughing because you grow old. You grow old because you stop laughing.” – Michael Pritchard
    Exactly right, completely true. I love nothing more than laughter.

Leave a Reply

