the most primitive sense

p3173225

On St. Patrick’s Day, Lianne, Jayla and I went for a walk at our favourite conservation area. Suprisingly, there was still some snow on the ground there. I didn’t expect it because here at home it has all but disappeared – just tiny bits remain. The trail there is a perfect length for a lazy teenager, a seven year old and an out-of-shape mother. We packed up a snack, including some homemade limeade we made the night before; our one St. Patrick’s Day tradition.

We reached our destination – a clearing near a small brook in the center of the woods. The snow had cleared a space for us and after a few moments of sitting there on a fallen tree I began to smell it. That familiar scent. The smell of the forest. So many memories came flooding back to me. Walks in the woods when my children were really little. Times when I walked alone there. Family camping trips where I convinced everyone to go for a hike together. Always pausing for just a moment, just before entering into this sacred space so that I could breathe it in, filling my lungs with its’ power and magic.

p3173216

“Smell is a potent wizard that transports you across thousand of miles and all the years you have lived.”
– Helen Keller

6 thoughts on “the most primitive sense

  1. Beautiful quote at the end. Is that the market bag I made or the one you made? I just love the netting part of those bags. You gals sure had a fun hike and when homemade limeade is involved what else would you wish for.

  2. You’re so right. Just reading about your walk in the woods made me think of the smell of evergreens…a smell I remember so well from playing in the woods when young.

  3. Isn’t it remarkable how scents transport us?

    I am a water baby who lives in landlocked Missouri. Yikes! I long for the ocean. When we go home to Oregon, I always visit the coast two or three times. I swear I can smell the ocean 7 or 8 miles away. There is just something about that damp, alive smell. Oh.

Leave a Reply

