capturing a moment

img_5490

Kyrie at are so happy is doing a countdown to the arrival of her baby for the next five weeks (or more or less) and every friday she will be focusing on a particular sense. It is called Five Senses Friday.

I thought I would join in this week with this photograph of Jayla.

She was having a bath during the day one day (to warm up and to play) and I looked over and saw her beautiful face and thought — I must capture this moment. I want to remember the way her face looks in this moment. Her sweet seven year old face. Seven years. She has been in my life for seven years. How did seven years go by so quickly? Of course I can’t capture every moment with a photograph; but I know all of the moments are stored within me. Stored within a deep part of me and that storage space “never” gets filled up, there is always room for many, many more moments.

“We do not remember days; we remember moments.”
~Cesare Pavese, The Burning Brand

9 thoughts on “capturing a moment

  1. What a beautiful moment, what a beautiful picture, Colleen!

    These cobbles, made of air and love and smiles, plaster the magic way into the wild garden of memory. And there we can find all the warm hands and soft whispers and snowflakes and hear the lark singing.

    Warm thoughts to you from Sweden,

    Juliane

  2. Oh, this is such a good one, and just what I was thinking of when I started this project. The moments are stored inside! I just hope I can remember them all. That I can remember my two year old, my three year old, when they are seven and eight and 25!

    xox, K

  3. I, too, have a seven year old daughter.

    There is nothing like that joy, is there?

    I wanted to thank you for following Stefani over to my blog. I appreciate your visit and your comment. Happy weekend.

  4. That’s a very sweet photo! I just told my own 8-year-old daughter tonight that as much as I love her at 8, sometimes I miss 2, 3, 4 etc. It’s happening SO fast!

Leave a Reply

